Fall Athletics

Saint Mary’s Athletic Department is very excited to begin working with your children in pursuing their academic and athletic goals. Below is information for summer conditioning and work out schedules for the upcoming fall sports season.

Cross Country
Denis Mohun, Girls Head Coach – dmohun@stmchs.org
Jeff Rogers, Boys Head Coach – jrogers@stmchs.org

Summer conditioning and workshops will be emailed later in the summer.

Football – Junior Varsity & Varsity
Connor Banks, Head Coach, Class of 2000 – cbanks@stmchs.org

Freshmen that are interested in participating in summer workouts for football, conditioning begins on June 18th at 12:30 and concludes at 1:30.
Following the June 18th workouts will take place every Tuesday and Thursday from 12:30 to 1:30. The only exception to this schedule is the week of July 4th, the freshmen are off that week. Official practice for football begins on August 5th.

Golf – Women
Moe Ali, Head Coach – mali@stmchs.org

Tryouts will take place first week of school. Please email coach Ali with any questions regarding the season.

Tennis – Women
Mike Sommers, Head Coach – msommers@stmchs.org

Optional practice will begin on Tuesday, August 20th.

Softball (Spring Sport) – Women
For Information Contact Casey Filson, Athletic Director – cfilson@stmchs.org
Women’s softball will be participating in a fall league in conjunction with Piedmont and Albany High Schools. Practices will be at Piedmont High School under the direction of Gene Denard, head coach of Piedmont High School. This is not mandatory for any players but is an opportunity to develop hitting and fielding skills prior to the spring season.

Volleyball – Women’s Freshmen/Junior Varsity/Varsity
Mel Lasher, Head Coach – Class of 2008 M-lasher@hotmail.com

(530) 299-7130
Open gym for volleyball will be from 6:00 to 8:00 in the Saint Mary’s Gym on the following dates, August 6th through August 10th.
Tryouts will be held August 12th through August 14th from 4:00 to 6:00 pm.
As part of the try-outs and conditioning, all volleyball players will need to complete a 1.5 mile run. Varsity level players will need to complete this run in under 13 minutes and be able to do a minimum of 15 pushups.

Please do not hesitate to contact me – Caley Filson – if you have any questions concerning athletics. Feel free to contact any of our coaches by email if you have questions about specific sports programs.

Thank you,

Mr. Casey Filson
cfilson@stmchs.org